John Erik Pandolfino, MD, MSCI
Photo: John E. Pandolfino



Elected 2018

Dr. John Erik Pandolfino received his BA degree in Biology from the University of Chicago and attended Loyola University, Stritch School of Medicine from 1989 to 1993. He did his internal medicine residency and gastroenterology fellowship at Northwestern University in Chicago. He joined the faculty there in 2001 and completed his Master’s Degree in Clinical investigation in 2003 at Northwestern University. He is currently the Hans Popper Professor of Medicine and the Division Chief of Gastroenterology and Hepatology. His research focuses on esophageal physiology and the biomechanics of bolus transport as it relates to dysphagia and gastroesophageal reflux disease. His work has reshaped the field of esophagology as it shifted the study of esophageal function away from describing patterns of pressure propagation toward a more mechanistic assessment of the biomechanics of bolus transport. This approach focuses on the interplay between intrabolus pressure and esophageal wall mechanics and was the foundation for developing a new classification for esophageal motor disorders, the “Chicago Classification.” This work had an almost immediate translational impact as it defined motor disorders into clinically relevant phenotypes that allowed for a more personalized medical approach. This work has also extended to the development and refinement of other new technologies focused on assessing reflux burden, antireflux barrier function and bolus transport. He pioneered a technology, “panometry," using adaptations of FLIP technology and topographic analysis to simultaneously study esophageal motor activity and opening dimensions. These tools have greatly improved management of esophageal diseases and have been indoctrinated into current clinical practice. Dr. Pandolfino also has a deep interest in mentoring and education. He currently directs a T32 focused on physiology and psychology and has received numerous awards for mentoring. He is a fellow of the AGA and ACG and serves on numerous committees within the AGA, ACG and the ANMS.