Sriram Venneti, MD, PhD
Photo: Sriram Venneti



Elected 2024

Sriram Venneti is a clinically active neuropathologist and physician-scientist researcher whose work focuses on furthering understanding of the biology of pediatric brain tumors and improving patient outcomes. He completed his clinical and scientific training at Bangalore Medical College and Research Institute (India); the University of Pittsburgh; the University of Pennsylvania; and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. He was appointed the Al and Robert Glick Family Research Professor of Pediatrics in 2022 and the Scientific Director of the Chad Tough Pediatric Brain Center at the University of Michigan (U-M) in 2023. He is a tenured Associate Professor in the U-M Department of Pathology and holds a joint appointment in the Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases. He leads a collaborative scientific research program that pursues integrated work using multiple approaches, including genomics, metabolomics, immunology, and pre-clinical trials. His independent research laboratory explores the intersection of epigenetics and cancer metabolism in pediatric brain tumors including ependymomas, diffuse midline gliomas, and diffuse intrinsic pontine gliomas. His scientific contributions have led to the establishment of biomarkers to enhance diagnosis and prognostication in childhood brain cancers, including a key biomarker for ependymomas that has been universally adopted, including by the World Health Organization (WHO) Classification of Central Nervous System Tumors. Moreover, in recent team science efforts, he has successfully translated his studies on metabolic and epigenetic reprogramming to clinical trials that have shown unprecedented survival benefit in children with diffuse midline gliomas and diffuse intrinsic pontine gliomas. He is recognized as a leader in the field of pediatric neurooncology, and he is the recipient of several awards including the Sidney Kimmel Foundation Award, Doris Duke Clinical Scientist Development Award, and the Sontag Foundation Distinguished Scientist Award.