Frederick Kofi Korley, MD, PhD
Photo: Frederick K. Korley



Elected 2024

Dr. Korley is a Professor with tenure and the Associate Chair for Research in Emergency Medicine at the University of Michigan. He is also the scientific director of the Massey TBI Grand Challenge sponsored by the Weil Institute at the University of Michigan, which distributes up to $750,000 yearly to investigators with high-risk and high-reward ideas for developing diagnostics and therapeutics in traumatic brain injury (TBI). Dr. Korley grew up in Accra, Ghana, and obtained a full Presidential Scholarship from Morris Brown College in Atlanta, Georgia, to attend college. He subsequently completed Medical School and Emergency Medicine Residency Training at Northwestern University, where he served as Chief Resident. He was recruited to Johns Hopkins University as the Inaugural recipient of the Robert E. Meyerhoff Endowed Professorship. While at Hopkins, he completed a doctoral degree in Clinical Investigation with election to Phi Beta Kappa.

Dr. Korley has conducted pioneering work in uncovering and quantifying gaps in emergency department (ED) evaluation and management of TBI. He is developing novel diagnostic and therapeutic approaches to bridge these gaps as the PI of several NIH and DoD-funded studies. Dr. Korley co-authored a NASEM report on Accelerating Progress in TBI and Care. He chairs the American College of Emergency Physicians TBI expert panel, developing a point-of-care clinical decision-making tool for guiding ED evaluation and management of TBI. He is the lead author of a new chapter on blood-based biomarkers in the latest version of the Best Practices in the Management of Traumatic Brain Injury published by the American College of Surgeons Trauma Quality Improvement Program. Dr. Korley has published first-author manuscripts in high-impact journals such as NEJM, JAMA, JAMA Cardiology, Journal of the American College of Cardiology, and Lancet Neurology. He received the 2021 Society of Academic Emergency Medicine Mid-Career Investigator Award.