Johann E. Gudjonsson, MD, PhD
Photo: Johann E. Gudjonsson



Elected 2020

Dr. Gudjonsson is received his MD and PhD degree from the University of Iceland, followed by internship and residency training at University of Michigan. Upon graduation in 2008, he joined the Department of Dermatology as a Clinical Lecturer, and promoted to an Assistant Professor in 2010. In 2017 he was installed as the Arthur C. Curtis Professorship in Skin Molecular Immunology, and in 2021 to full Professor at University of Michigan. 

As a physician-scientist Dr. Gudjonsson expertise is widely sought after in managing patients with complex medical dermatologic diseases, and he is also active in teaching and mentoring dermatology residents, medical and graduate students, both in the clinic and in the laboratory.

Dr. Gudjonsson has received numerous awards and recognitions including the Young Investigator Award from the American Academy of Dermatology, the Doris Duke Clinical Scientist Award, and the Pfizer ASPIRE award in Rheumatology and Dermatology. He is a scholar of the Taubman Medical Research Institute and was a co-PI of the first Taubman Institute Innovation Program Award. In 2018 he received the Rising Star Lecture of the Society for Investigative Dermatology, an award that is given once every 5 years.  He is a standing member of the NIH ACTS Study Section and on the Board of Scientific Counselors to NIAMS. 

Dr. Gudjonsson has published over 200 papers, many in top tier journals such as Nature Genetics, Nature Immunology, Science Translational Medicine, and Immunity. He is R01 funded investigator and he is the principal investigator of a NIH P30 grant that was awarded to the University of Michigan.

His research findings have shaped the field of immunology and dermatology. This includes characterizing the role of IL-36 in psoriasis and pustular forms of psoriasis; elucidating the immunopathogenesis of lichen planus, a devastating disease of skin and mucous membranes. Finally, Dr. Gudjonsson’s work led to the identification of a novel immune regulatory pathway that is responsible for sex-biased autoimmunity.